Bibliophile Eats: Mother’s Day Cupcakes

So, Mother’s Day was this past Sunday the 13th of May, and my roommate’s daughter and I made her cupcakes.  Not just any cupcakes, but fantastic triple chocolate fudge cupcakes with cherry vanilla frosting.  Mainly because I was in the mood to bake, and she gave me the excuse to make cupcakes (though, I really don’t need an excuse to bake!).

That is what this edition of Bibliophile Eats is going to be, those fantastic cupcakes.  They were from a box, I did not bake them from scratch, and the frosting was from a plastic tub, I’m lazy like that sometimes.

All the stuff needed on the box (no you can’t see the other two eggs but they are there)

3 eggs, should have used 4 they were a bit too crumbly, but deliciously moist and sinful.  See, box, tub of frosting.  I’m using the new Duncan Heins Frosting Creations for the frosting and yes, that is a Betty Crocker cake mix *gasp* brand changing, some of people would have a cow, but I don’t care.  Betty Crocker had the cake mix that I wanted, Duncan Heins didn’t so there.  Oil and water in the same measuring cup (roommate’s daughter LOVED that little bit of science in our baking).  They are easy to make, just follow the directions on the box.

Baked and cooling, waiting for frosting!

Didn’t make quite 24 cupcakes, only made 21 (mainly because that was all I had).  Don’t they look absolutely AWESOME?! They were yummy, and I had to keep myself from nomming on them before the frosting was added.  While they cooled I’d mixed the flavor packet into the frosting starter to ensure that that was ready for when the cupcakes were cooled.

After about 30 minutes it was FROSTING TIME! YAY! This is my favorite part of making cupcakes, though I have to further educate my roommate’s daughter in the art of frosting cupcakes because the frosting is almost as important as a super moist cupcake! She went so skimpy on the frosting, it made me sad, but only for a minute because they were absolutely nummy!  Oh, right, you guys want to see the finished product! Here we go.

Don’t they look absolutely tasty?

Up close and personal with all that cherry vanilla chocolately goodness.

Now, the Cherry Vanilla frosting will be making a reappearance, but this time on classic yellow cupcakes (mainly so the roommate’s son isn’t confined to just one solitary cupcake like he is with the chocolate).  I think that’s all I’ve got for you today on Bibliophile Eats.  Enjoy!

Previous Editions of Bibliophile Eats:

Bibliophile Eats: Herb and Cheese Potatoes

Leave a Reply

