Book Review: Dreamfever by Karen Marie Moning

Title: Dreamfever
Author: Karen Marie Moning
Rating: 5/5

Summary: The walls between human and Fae worlds have come crashing down. As Mac fights for survival on Dublin’s battle-scarred streets, she will embark on the darkest-and most erotically charged-adventure of her life.

Review: After I read this fourth book in the Fever series I had three words running rampant in my head for several days before I could fully process what I had just read, those words were OH MY GOD! – circling round and round and round my head. I was floored by this one, and at the end of the third I knew something like it was going to happen, but I did not expect it to be this temperature spiking!

Mister Jericho Barrons can pretty much call me whatever the hell he wants to call me after this wonderful installment to the series. If you thought that this man was naughty in the first three books, I must inform you that you have not seen anything yet. Mister Jericho Barrons needs a spanking for all that naughtiness and I know several individuals that will agree with me on this (though truth be told I wouldn’t mind him spanking me instead – wait, I think I just said that out loud…oops!).

I do however, have a favorite scene. It is an argument that is so simple, and yet so perfectly describes the relationship between Mac and Barrons:

He shakes me. “Say my name.”
“No.”
“Damn it, would you just cooperate.”
“I do not know that word, ‘cooperate’.”
“Obviously,” he growls.
“I think you make up words.”
“I do not make up words.”
“Do, too.”
“Do not.”
“Too.”
“Not.”
I laugh.
“Woman, you make me crazed,” he mutters.

See, perfectly yet intensely complicated. This book is far from over the top, and there is plenty of build up before anything even remotely sexual happens, and even then there are unnamed extenuating circumstances that bring about the explosive release to the sexual tension.

Barrons is HOT! Dear god that man sets my blood to boil and I want to let him do dirty things to me (much like I would let Christian Grey do whatever the hell he wanted to me), and I disliked him being gone for so long, but I understood that it was at some point necessary for it to happen. This series is fast paced and not one to beat around the bush for the most part, and I am more often than not hanging on every word and waiting to find out what happens next, and then I get to the ending and for the second time I am like WHAT IN THE EFFING HELL?!

I have not yet gotten my hands on Shadowfever which is the fifth and final book in the series, and of course I will have the same dread about going into it that I do every other final book in a series, but I will know that things are going to hopefully work out in the end! They HAVE to work out in the end or I am going to lose my grip on sanity and it will be entirely KMM’s fault.

If you have any questions, comments or recommendations you can contact me at simplicity.kindreth@gmail.com
My reviews can be found here:
https://caedmoneries.wordpress.com
http://www.tumblr.com/caedy
http://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/caesreviews

Leave a Reply

