Book Review: The Anatomist’s Apprentice by Tessa Harris

Title: The Anatomists Apprentice
Author: Tessa Harris
Rating: 1/5

Summary: The death of Sir Edward Crick has unleashed a torrent of gossip through the seedy taverns and elegant ballrooms of Oxfordshire. Few mourn the dissolute young man—except his sister, the beautiful Lady Lydia Farrell. When her husband comes under suspicion of murder, she seeks expert help from Dr. Thomas Silkstone, a young anatomist from Philadelphia.

Thomas arrived in England to study under its foremost surgeon, where his unconventional methods only add to his outsider status. Against his better judgment he agrees to examine Sir Edward’s corpse. But it is not only the dead, but also the living, to whom he must apply the keen blade of his intellect. And the deeper the doctor’s investigations go, the greater the risk that he will be consigned to the ranks of the corpses he studies… (taken from Goodreads.com)

Review: I. Could. Not. Finish. This. Book. Not even if my life depended on it. I could not stand it. Drivel, pure and simple. This book was not worth, in my opinion the accolades that it has received, nor anything higher than a one star rating (and even that may be too high in my opinion). There are a couple of things that rub me the wrong way with this book, and here they are:

1.) The man from Philadelphia constantly called “the New Englander,” if you are from Philadelphia you are NOT FROM NEW ENGLAND. If you are from Massachusetts (holy crap I’m pleased that I managed to spell that right the first time without the use of spell check), Connecticut (this one I butchered and it is easier than Massachusetts), Rhode Island, Vermont, New Hampshire, or Maine you are from New England.
2.) The Irishman in the story constantly exhibits “Gallic” charm and NOTHING ELSE! Dear god, find something else to describe him please and thank you and save my sanity.
3.) The murder victim, whose skin has turned yellow, is “livid.” Is he really now? Do we even know the definition of this word? Here, let me help you with it: having a discolored, bluish appearance caused by a bruise,congestion of blood vessels, strangulation, etc., as the face,flesh, hands, or nails. <- Tell me, does the color blue match the color yellow? No, I didn’t think so.
4.) On the same page a poor man is “distraught” more than once over a socially awkward encounter. Really? Does this need to be done on the SAME PAGE?

These are just a few of the points that rubbed me the wrong way with this book. Also, there seems to always be a “loud clank” made every time there is a chunk of a character dropped into the story. Seriously, I do not know what possessed me to even consider this book, I claim a lapse in my sanity and I will leave it at that. Will not be venturing into this world again, and I didn’t even take home the souvenir T-shirt that they offered.

If you have any questions, comments or recommendations you can contact me at simplicity.kindreth@gmail.com
My reviews can be found here:
https://caedmoneries.wordpress.com
http://www.tumblr.com/caedy
http://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/caesreviews

Leave a Reply

