Book Review: Lure by Brian Rathbone

Title: Lure
Author: Brian Rathbone
Rating: 3.5 stars

Summary:  Sam Flock is a good cop, but because of a paranormal experience during a job, she drove into the side of an ambulance, and she is suddenly off the force.  In her search for answers she forms a paranormal investigation agency with her friend, Shells.  They are among the worst paranormal investigators, however, they find something that is beyond their wildest imaginings.

Review: I’d received this book for free from the Author for an honest and unbiased review, that is what I will give.  While the story in and of itself, was good, there were a couple of things that jarred me while reading this book.  There was some frustration over the fact that while the promise of plot was good, there was not a good delivery on it (which frustrated me to no end and I hate being frustrated while reading a book).  There is missing details that were needed, side issues, and incomplete instances.  There was a smoothness that was decidedly not there and that is something that irked me more than anything.  I keep waiting for there to be some development, some growth for Sam, but it never really happened.  There was no learning experience, there was no growth from where she was in the beginning of the story.  Shell, really got on my nerves and because of this character I have for the most part stripped the word ‘dude’ from my vocabulary because it was just about every other word from her mouth.

However, I did keep reading, because I do not often like to put down a book, stop reading it simply because it annoys me to no end (and to think of it I’ve only done that once).  Despite all of the above, despite any complaints I was intrigued by the story, and think that it could have had a bit more development and some of the loose ends could have been tied up a bit more by the end of the story.

Recommendations:  Paranormal readers.

Leave a Reply

