Book Review: Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare

This is the first book by Cassandra Clare that I have read, never mind that I have had City of Bones sitting on my bookshelf for nearly two months now, and I thoroughly enjoyed it.  The reader selected for this particular audio book was decent enough, and at times I wanted to strangle her, but I still kept up with the story, kept up with what was going on and delighted in the interactions.  I like both Jem and Will for different reasons, despite the fact that Jem has the drug addiction, and that makes me sad.

Jessamine, I want to smack just as much as I like (well like perhaps may not be the right word, tolerate is perhaps better) because I cannot bring myself to hate her.  She was hilarious in the beginning of the book, and I also adored Henry and Charlotte, they are quite adorable.  I am looking forward to reading more about them hwen I start reading the second book.  Also, I’m not entirely certain on the fact that Tessa is a warlock, she is something different, something that has not yet been encountered before, and that is not a bad thing.

The ending…seriously, made me want to pull my hair out and throttle someone.  What in the hell was the problem that drove Will to ask Magnus about something…I want to find out, I need to find out darn it.  There were parts in the novel that were slow going for me and at certain points I had to go back and relisten to things because I didn’t entirely understand what was going on.  However, it was decidedly a good start to the series, and I am going to be starting book too fairly soon now that I have it from the library.

Leave a Reply

